Guest Post: James Peercy

I have a guest interview with the very talented James Peercy. He’s a science fiction writer and quite the poet.

James, tell us about your book.

It is called ‘Without A Conscious…’.  It is about a college student who wakes up one morning to find an envelope slipped under the door of his apartment.  As he opens the package, he sees pictures of his grandmother murdered.  A call immediately comes in with a strange voice asking ‘Where is it?’ and then hangs up.  The next thing he knows the FBI are knocking at his door.  Not only does he have to figure out who murdered his grandmother, but why, connecting it in with genocide and revenge against the United States of America.

The title came from how the main character finds his clues in the story. Cliff Fulton was taught many techniques of problem solving when he was a child by his grandmother.  He and his family also have a knack for unconsciously putting together facts.  This is what started the idea, ‘Without A Conscious…’, implying ‘Without a conscious thought…’.  Yet
the title is even more than that.  It is the first part of a sentence and each of the next four books in the series will complete the sentence. Of course, that won’t stop the series from continuing beyond five books.
http://www.amazon.com/Without-a-Conscious-ebook/dp/B007U6J7H4/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1344893444&sr=8-3&keywords=without+a+conscious
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Without-a-Conscious-ebook/dp/B007U6J7H4/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1344893518&sr=8-3

Is anything in your book based on real events?

Yes.  What started it all was when my father was diagnosed with colon cancer, and I did research on a solution that did not involve chemotherapy, surgery, or radiation.  I found this solution had been discovered back in 1950.

 
How long does it take you to write a book?

Though time can vary, in general it takes about a month to do the initial writing, then a month or so to edit, depending upon time.  This does not count prep time such as research which is done before anything else.

 
What is your work schedule like when you are writing?

Write, eat, a little sleep, and write again.  Sometimes the day job tries to interfere, but I try to ignore that. 🙂

 
When did you write your first book?

In middle school I wrote my first novella.  In high school I wrote my first book.

What was the most challenging part of writing a book?

Writing has never been a challenge.  It is something I must do, published or not.  If I stop writing, my mind starts coming up with things at the least opportune times.

 
How many books have you written and which one is your favorite?

I have currently written nine books and a host of short stories. Presently, ‘Moon Half Full’, a science fiction short story, and ‘Without A Conscious…’, book 1 of a mystery series, are published.  ‘The Wall Outside’, book 1 in a fantasy series, is scheduled for Sept 15th.

 
What do you think makes a good story?

People and their relationships, regardless of the setting, are what create good stories.  If you can make the reader feel the agony, touch the fear, and experience the joy, you will pull them into the story.

 
How did you choose your genre?

In middle school I fell in love with scifi.  In high school I encountered Dungeons & Dragons and began to mix in fantasy.  It wasn’t until 2010 that I wrote my first mystery due to some research to help my father; he was diagnosed with colon cancer.  (The main character in the mystery book, ‘Without A Conscious…’ is also named after him.)  It would be safe to say I have not limited myself as to a genre, and who knows what is next. Poetry is also something I do every day posting on my storiestotell fb page and my personal page.

 
Where do you get your ideas for your stories?

Everywhere and from everything.  A single word spoken randomly in a crowd of people may trigger a story, just like a dream might trigger another. I’ve learned to keep a list as the ideas hit me simply because there is no way to remember them all.

 
Who designs you covers?

To date, I have designed my own covers.  Part of my day job concerns business advertising.

 
Is there a particular author or story that influenced you to start writing?

It began in middle school.  I picked up a book in the library called ‘To Save A Planet’ by Robert A. Heinlein.  After reading that book, I knew I had to write. I began to write everything down: dreams, stories, and novellas.  Once I hit High School, I was writing full books.

 
What are some future projects you are working?

I currently have nine books already written and in the editing stage, many of which have been written through the years.  One of those books, a fantasy called ‘The Wall Outside’, is supposed to come out this fall.  It is about a couple who goes on vacation and strange things begin to happen as one is kidnapped into a magical realm.  The other must face enormous odds to get them back.

I am also currently working on finishing the edits for ‘Ivan’, a scifi novel about a UCT, Universal Computer Tech, that enters hostile galaxies as a day job.  Troubles wait around every corner.  And of course, I am working on the second book to follow the mystery ‘Without A Conscious…’. There are currently planned four more books, though the series will not be limited to that.

You can learn more about James at his blog; http://storiestotelldotcom.blogspot.com/

2 Responses to Guest Post: James Peercy

  1. erindanzer78 says:

    Hi James! I’m looking forward to The Wall Outside; that sounds like a great novel! Great interview!

Leave a Reply

